My 30 day break from Social Media ✋⛔️

Friday 18th March 2021

It’s important to take breaks from social media from time to time because studies show that spending too much time scrolling can increase feelings of stress, anxiety, and depression.

To take a break from social media, all you should do is turn off notifications , and prioritize your self care or find other activities you enjoy. or just switch of your phone

In this post I will be talking about the short break I took from social media and the benefits i saw from it so shall we get into it.

It is important to takes short breaks from social media every now and and just press the reset button, I found myself that I would disappear down a rabbit hole and just scroll hours and hours online, it would be 10:30 and then next you look its 3 am! (they do say “time flys when you’re having fun” lol) joking

At this point I knew I fucked up hahaha!!

Instead of spending time scrolling online I found activities I enjoy and prioritise myself, and created a self-care routine.

I like to go on walks and runs as well reading and listening to podcasts.

I found that doing these activities I was using my time more efficiently and felt more productive because when I was scrolling I would be constantly comparing myself to others and see what they are doing I knew this was not right and felt weird.

“A social media detox is simply just a break. … “Stepping away from social media is a great way to get a better picture of reality and what is going on in the real world.”

source:https://health.clevelandclinic.org/signs-you-need-to-take-a-break-from-social-media

However since we are in pandemic there a been a rise in social media usage and people are using it as entertainment, and there are negative connotations to this as well it shows depression and anxiety rates increasing amongst teenagers since the netflix documentary was aired.

benefits of taking a break from social media:

  • Break the Social Comparison Cycle
  • Protect Your Privacy
  • You’ll Stop Feeling Competitive.
  • Improve Your Mood
  • Reconnect With the Real World
  • Begin Living in the Moment
  • Stop Obsessing Over the Past

source:https://www.lifehack.org/483829/9-positive-benefits-of-a-social-media-detox

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started